“One of the pleasures of the festival has always been its flagrant disregard for British theatre’s tendency to put art into boxes… The LIMF programme constantly tempts us out of our comfort zones”


London International Mime Festival (LIMF) was founded in 1977 by producer, Joseph Seelig, at the instigation of mime-clown, Nola Rae. He was joined by Helen Lannaghan as co-director in 1986. It is the Capital’s longest established international theatre season.
Taking place each January, its programme spans the spectrum of contemporary visual performance including live art, physical and circus-theatre, mask, puppetry, movement and object theatre.

“An explosively inventive programme of visual performance” Evening Standard

 “The Mime Festival has had an enormous impact on British theatre” WhatsOnStage

“January in London always means the varied, zany mime festival, when international performers can be enjoyed without a language barrier… I invariably leave the mime festival invigorated and touched” Quentin Letts

“Too amazing for words – it’s the best physical theatre from around the world” Time Out

“The London International Mime Festival might seem a bit of a mouthful as a title. But really it’s a remarkable feat of compression given that it ought to be called “Things That Have Grabbed the Attention of Co-Directors Helen Lannaghan and Joseph Seelig That Others Might Label Variously Dance, Performance Art, Circus and Puppetry, Not Always From Abroad, Sometimes With Talking” Daily Telegraph


Want to perform at the Festival?

LIMF presents professional, non text-based, innovative visual theatre, ideally new to London. Please note that we do not programme outdoor performances. Participation is by invitation only. To let us know about your work, please contact us using the form on this page, with an online link to a video (YouTube or Vimeo preferred). If we think your material looks like a good fit for the festival programme, we will try to come and see your work live. Submissions should reach us by 1 June.

Press Enquiries

download the 2020 Festival release >

For all press/media enquiries and press tickets contact:
Anna Arthur

London International
Mime Festival

Somerset House, Strand,
London WC2R 1LA
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7637 5661

Festival Team
Helen Lannaghan
& Joseph Seelig OBE

Technical Manager:
Bill Deverson

Anna Arthur

Artists Manager:
Stephanie Brotchie

BSL Interpreters:
Kam Deo
Jeni Draper
Martin Fox-Roberts

After-show discussion hosts:
Adrian Berry
Flick Ferdinando
Lyn Gardner
Martin Hargeaves
Cheryl Henson
Paul Hunter
Donald Hutera
Sacha Lee
Steve Lock
Guillaume Pigé
Dorothy Max Prior
Thomas Wilson
Sarah Wright

Graphics/web designer:
Iain Lanyon

Anne Dillow
Richard Fitzmaurice

Contact us >

Use this form If you'd like us to send you a brochure in mid November (UK addresses only). Don't forget to put your address in the message, including the post code. If you have feedback about the festival, or would like more information, please also use this form to contact us and we’ll reply to you as soon as we can. Privacy Statement >

    London International Mime Festival is an Arts Council England National Portfolio Organisation.
    The 2020 London International Mime Festival gratefully acknowledges co-operation / financial support from:

    Arts Council England
    Arts Queensland
    Arts South Australia
    Australia Council
    Cheryl Henson
    Jim Henson Foundation
    Institut français

    News >

    Empty Space... Peter Brook Special Achievement Award
    Joseph Seelig and Helen Lannaghan received the 2017 Peter Brook Special Achievement Award for LIMF’s spectacular programme of visual performances over the past 40 years, in a ceremony at the National Theatre Studio on 31 October.
    The Stage article >
    Arts Council England
    National Portfolio Organisation
    London International Mime Festival gratefully acknowledges core financial support from Arts Council England and we are delighted to announce the festival’s continued status as an Arts Council England National Portfolio Organisation for the next funding cycle, 2018-2022.
    More info >